District 4

Little League World Series

Throughout World War II, Little League's growth was hampered by the fact that many fathers in the U.S. were in the military. By 1946, there were only 12 teams patterned after the Little League model originally devised by Carl Stotz in 1938 in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

In 1947, the board of directors for the original Little League decided to organize a tournament for all known Little League programs (there were 17) and called it the National Little League Tournament. It was later renamed the Little League Baseball World Series.

The 12 teams that participated in the first series in 1947 were:

Willliamsport (Original Little League Williamsport Sunday School League Maynard Midget League (Williamsport) Lincoln League Stars (Williamsport)
Brandon Boys League (Williamsport) Milton (PA) Midget League Montour (PA) Little League Montgomery (PA) Little League
Jersey Shore (PA) All Stars Lock Haven (PA) All Stars Hammonton (NJ) All Stars West Shore Original Little League (PA)

The Champion was Maynard Midget League of Williamsport, which defeated Lock Haven All Stars in the final game, 16-7.

More than 2,500 spectators witnessed the championship game in 1947, and the results were printed in newspapers around the country. The publicity helped spread Little League nationwide, and within a few years, Little League programs were in in every state. When Little League added other programs (Senior League division, Softball, etc.) it added tournament play and World Series tournaments in those divisions. Thre are now 7 World Series tournaments played every year in the various divisions.

In 2018, over the course of 30 days, approximately 935 Little Leaguers ages 10 - 16 from 78 different baseball and softball teams around the world will compete to determine the 7 World Series Champions for 2018.

Little League World Series Historical Results

World Series Schedules (coming in summer 2018)

Highlights of 2017 MLB Little League Classic Experience


Little League Baseball

August 16 - 26, 2018

2017 World Series Highlights

Eligible Ages: 10-11-12 year olds

Location: South Williamsport, PA

History: 60th Season in South Williamsport; 72nd Season Overall

2017 Champions: Japan Region; Tokyo Kitasuna Little League (Tokyo, Japan)


Intermediate League Baseball

July 29 - August 5, 2018

Intermediate World Series Site

Eligible Ages: 11-12-13 year olds

Location: Livermore, CA

History: 6th Season in Livermore; 6th Season Overall

2017 Champion: Puerto Rico Region; Radames Lopez Little League (Guayama, P.R.)


Junior League Baseball

August 12 - 19, 2018

2017 World Series Highlights

Eligible Ages: 12-14 year olds

Location: Taylor, MI

History: 38th Season in Taylor; 38th Season Overall

2017 Champion: Asia-Pacific Region; Shing-Ming Junior Little League, (Taoyuan City, Chinese Taipei)


Senior League Baseball

July 28 - August 4, 2018

Eligible Ages: 13-14-15-16 year olds

Location: Easley, SC

History: 2nd Season in Easley; 58th Season Overall

2017 Champion: Latin America Region; Aguadulce Cabezera Little League (Aguadulce, Panama)


Little League Softball

August 8 - 15, 2018

Eligible Ages: 10-11-12 year olds

Location: Portland, OR

History: 25th Season in Portland; 45th Season Overall

2017 Champion: Southwest Region; Lake Air Little League (Waco, Texas)


Junior League Softball

July 29 - August 4, 2018

2017 World Series Highlights

Eligible Ages: 12-13-14 year olds

Location: Kirkland, WA

History: 20th Season in Kirkland; 20th Season Overall

2017 Champion: Central Region; Poland (Ohio) Community League League


Senior League Softball

July 30 - August 5, 2018

Senior League Softball World Series Site

Eligible Ages: 13-14-15-16 year olds

Location: Lower Sussex, DE

History: 18th Season in Lower Sussex; 43rd Season Overall

2017 Champion: Host Region (Delaware District 3); Georgetown (Del.) Little League